Background Image

Diocese News 6.1.2018

Diocese of Dallas Ordains 27 New Deacons

(Frisco)  A university professor, a partner in a law firm, and the president of an engineering firm were among a group of 27 men who were ordained as permanent deacons in the Catholic Church on Saturday, June 2, at 10:00 a.m. at St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church, 8000 El Dorado Parkway in Frisco.   

The 27 men, along with their wives, started the Formation process in 2012.  After extensive education, spiritual training and assessment, the men were ordained by Bishop Edward J. Burns in a Mass concelebrated by priests from around the diocese.  According to Bishop Burns, “The local Church relies on our deacons to help minister to the 1.3 million Catholics that make up the Diocese of Dallas. I am extremely grateful to these 27 men who are stepping into ministry at a time when they are very much needed. I am also very grateful to their wives who share in this important ministry.”  

The bishop went on to say the new ministers will be a welcome addition to the active deacons who currently serve the Catholic community in the Dallas diocese. In 2013, the diocese had 153 active deacons but due to retirements, relocations and deaths that number dwindled to 117 in 2018.  After Saturday’s ordination, the diocese will have a total of 144 active deacons to minister in parishes, as well as in hospital, jail, school and other ministries.  

As ordained ministers in the Church, Catholic deacons are called to functions of Word, Sacrament and Charity.  As ministers of the Word, deacons proclaim the Gospel, preach, and teach in the name of the Church. As ministers of the Sacraments, deacons baptize, lead the faithful in prayer, witness marriages, and conduct wake and funeral services.  As ministers of Charity, deacons are leaders in identifying the needs of others, then marshaling the Church's resources to meet those needs. Deacons are also dedicated to eliminating the injustices or inequities that cause such needs.  

The 27 deacon-elects come from 20 parishes in the Diocese of Dallas.  Several are fluently bilingual. They range in age from 38-62.   


Men ordained as Permanent Deacons

Roberto Álvarez Padilla
James Glynn Baird
David Wade Banowsky
Eduardo Barajas Rivera
Alexander Scott Christopher Barbieri 
Douglas Kelly Biglen
Ron Blanton
John Richard Boyle
Joseph M. Coleman
Marion Gene Freeman
Michael  E. Friske
Asunción Rosendo Gloria
John  Charles Gorman
Gregory John Hawley
Chistopher Raymond Knight
Patrick Robert Lamers
Robert James McDermott
Steven James Marcoe
Andrew M. Peña
Peter E. Raad
Robert  Arlin Rayner
Anthony  Silvestro, Jr.
Andrew Paul Tanner
José Antonio Vázquez Rangel
Filemón  Villegas Jaimez
Christopher J. Volkmer
Henry Joseph Wiechman