Background Image

Vatican October 9, 2016

Bishop Kevin Farrell to be made Cardinal

The Diocese of Dallas gives thanks for the news that Bishop Kevin Farrell, former bishop of the diocese and new Prefect of the new Dicastery for the Laity, Family and Life in Rome, will be made a cardinal.

UPDATED: 5:34 PM CDT, Sun October 9, 2016 

His Holiness Pope Francis today in Rome announced that Bishop Kevin J. Farrell is a cardinal-designate and will be among the 17 new cardinals to be created at the consistory on November 19, 2016 at the Basilica of St. Peter in Vatican City.  

Bishop Farrell just left Dallas on October 6th to take up residence in Rome where he will serve as the new Prefect for the Dicastery for Laity, Family and Life.  He had served as the Bishop of the Diocese of Dallas since March of 2007.
From Rome this morning, Bishop Farrell said, “I am humbled by the news this morning that our Holy Father Pope Francis has named me to the College of Cardinals. I ask all in the Diocese of Dallas to please pray for me that I may to the best of my ability fulfill this sacred duty to our Church.”
Bishop Greg Kelly, Apostolic Administrator in the Diocese of Dallas, this morning announced the news to the priests of the Diocese saying, “It is with great joy that I share the news that Bishop Farrell will be made a cardinal in the next Vatican consistory on November 19, 2016.  Please pray for him during this important moment in his priesthood and let us once again thank God for his nine years of service here with us.”


Pope Francis at the end of his Angelus on Sunday announced the creation of 17 new Cardinals. A consistory will be held on the 19 of November, the eve of the closing of the Jubilee of Mercy.

13 of the new Cardinals will be under 80 years and will be eligible to vote in a conclave.

The Holy Father said that the those chosen come from five continents. They include three American Archbishops and Archbishops from Mauritius and Bangladesh.

Below find the list of new Cardinals

  • Archbishop Mario Zenari, Italy
  • Archbishop Dieudonné Nzapalainga, Central African Republic
  • Archbishop Carlos Osoro Sierra, Spain
  • Archbishop Sérgio da Rocha, Brazil
  • Archbishop Blase J. Cupich, U.S.A.
  • Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario, Bangladesh
  • Archbishop Baltazar Enrique Porras Cardozo, Venezuela
  • Archbishop Jozef De Kesel, Belgium
  • Archbishop Maurice Piat, Mauritius
  • Archbishop Kevin Joseph Farrell, U.S.A.
  • Archbishop Carlos Aguiar Retes, Mexico
  • Archbishop John Ribat, Papua Nuova Guinea
  • Archbishop Mons. Joseph William Tobin U.S.A.
  • Archbishop Anthony Soter Fernandez, Archbishop Emeritus of Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
  • Archbishop Renato Corti, Archbishop Emeritus of Novara Italy
  • Archbishop Sebastian Koto Khoarai, Bishop Emeritus of Mohale’s Hoek Lesotho
  • Father Ernest Simoni, presbytery of the Archdiocese of Shkodrë-Pult, Scutari – Albania.