Background Image

Media Archives

Pope Francis grants Extraordinary Blessing “Urbi et orbi”

Publish Date: March 27, 2020

--

In response to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, Pope Francis said he will give an extraordinary blessing "Urbi et orbi" (to the city and the world). All Catholics and Christians are invited to participate in the special prayer of the Holy Father taking place in Saint Peter’s Square this FRIDAY, MARCH 27, 2020 at 12 noon (CDT).

The Apostolic Nunciature further conveys that during this Statio Orbis, which will be broadcast by Mondovision and streamed on the website of Vatican News (WWW.VATICANNEWS.VA) at 6:00 P.M. in Rome, 1:00 P.M. (EDT), 12:00 noon (CDT) the Holy Father will grant to all participants the Plenary Indulgence before imparting the ”Urbi et orbi” Blessing.

The ceremony will consist in readings from the Scriptures, prayers of supplication, and adoration of the Blessed Sacrament; and will conclude with Pope Francis giving the “Urbi et orbi” Blessing, with the possibility of gaining a plenary indulgence for all those who listen to it live through the various forms of communication. The blessing “to the City [of Rome] and to the World” is normally only given on Christmas and Easter.

Please click here to join Pope Francis.


 

Media Request Contact

Annette Gonzales Taylor
Director of Communications
(214) 379-2873
agtaylor@cathdal.org

 


Resources for covering the Catholic Church

Full Resolution Images & Graphics 
(Password required)

Graphics Page