Background Image

News 5.12.2014

Diocese of Dallas Honors Teachers

Outstanding Catholic School Educators Receive Awards

Nearly 1,000 teachers, administrators and support staff working in Catholic schools in the Diocese of Dallas were on hand at the Diocesan Distinguished Educator Recognition Dinner held on Friday, May 9, 2014 at the Sheraton in downtown Dallas.

Bishop Kevin J. Farrell was on hand to thank all educators working in the diocese for their great commitment to the students and families they serve.  Educators were honored for their years of service with special recognition given to those who have taught 10, 20 and 30 years.  The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Sister Caroleen Hensgen, SSND Distinguished Teacher of the Year Award to Rachel Robb of St. Elizabeth of Hungary Catholic School in Oak Cliff on the elementary school level and Stuart Kantor of Bishop Lynch High School in east Dallas on the high school level. The Monsignor John Meyers Distinguished Principal Award was presented to Phil Riley of St. Monica Catholic School also in Dallas.

The Teacher of the Year winners were each presented with a plaque and a check for $1,000 from The Catholic Foundation.  The Distinguished Principal Award recipient received a plaque and a check for $1,500 from The Catholic Foundation.

The first Catholic school opened its doors in the Diocese of Dallas in 1874.  Today, there are 38 schools and an enrollment of 15,000 students in the Dallas Catholic school system led by Superintendent Sister Gloria Cain, SSND.

Photo Credit: Don Johnson