About the Diocese 

Diocese-of-Dallas.gifThe Catholic Diocese of Dallas was first established on July 15, 1890 with a bull issued by Pope Leo XIII. The diocese currently covers an area of 7,523 square miles and includes the following counties: Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Fannin, Grayson, Hunt, Kaufman, Navarro, and Rockwall. The Diocese is led by Bishop Edward J. Burns, the eighth bishop of the diocese. 

History of the Diocese

Diocese Archives Department

Statistical Overview
(from the 2017 Official Catholic Directory)


Parishes: 69

Missions: 5

Seminaries: 2

Clergy and Religious

Number of Diocesan Priests: 106

Religious Priests in Diocese: 81

Total Priests in Diocese: 187

Permanent Deacons in Diocese: 176

Total Brothers: 16

Total Sisters: 85


Colleges and Universities: 1

High Schools, Diocesan and Parish: 3

High Schools, Private: 5

Elementary Schools, Diocesan and Parish: 26

Elementary Schools, Private: 2

Catechesis/ Religious Education Students: 50,878

Total Students under Catholic Instruction: 66,301

Vital Statistics

Receptions into the Church:

Infant Baptism Totals: 14,447

Adult Baptism Totals: 955

Received into Full Communion: 515

First Communions: 13,413

Confirmations: 10,067


Catholic: 1,519

Interfaith: 382

Total Marriages: 1,901

Deaths: 1,537

Total Catholic Population: 1,299,042

Total Population: 4,134,022